128 Devon Dice Podcast News-a-Palooza Show – Free the Meeples

Devon Dice Presents
Devon Dice Presents
128 Devon Dice Podcast News-a-Palooza Show - Free the Meeples
Loading
/

Welcome to News-a-palooza: Free the Meeple! I’m Joel, your host, and today we’re diving into a whirlwind of board gaming news and exciting updates. Joining me is Nick, our podcast’s very own board game designer.

News Segment:

3:16 – Meeple trademark dispute (+ update) https://gamefound.com/en/projects/cogito-ergo-meeple/meeple-inc/updates/9

10:50 – Game Brewer shutting down https://boardgamegeek.com/blogpost/162203/spiel-essen-24-sells-out-game-brewer-shuts-down-an

11:50 – Star Wars: X-Wing game not being developed anymore https://boardgamegeek.com/blogpost/162203/spiel-essen-24-sells-out-game-brewer-shuts-down-an

14:20 – Dicebreaker, the boardgame news site, appears to be collapsing, 2 weeks after being bought by IGN  https://boardgamewire.com/index.php/2024/06/12/dicebreakers-future-remains-unclear-as-silenced-site-makes-editor-in-chief-senior-staff-writer-redundant-after-ign-takeover/

15:55 – Figures for UK Games Expo attendance:

  • Uniques: 39,306
  • Total Attendance: 65,281
  • Almost 30% growth over 2023

19:39 – Essen Spiel sells out to exhibitors

21:16 – Spiel des Jahres (+ Kennerspiel) nominations announced: https://www.spiel-des-jahres.de/nominierte-spiele-2024.html

  • SdJ: Sky Team, https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/373106/sky-team
  • In the Footsteps of Darwin, https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/376683/in-the-footsteps-of-darwin
  • and Captain Flip. https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/393325/captain-flip

KSdJ: Daybreak; https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/334986/daybreak

The Guild of Merchant Explorers; https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/350933/the-guild-of-merchant-explorers

Ticket to Ride Legacy – Legends of the West. https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/390092/ticket-to-ride-legacy-legends-of-the-west

Coming Soon:

29:14 – Star Trek: Captain’s Chair: A Star Trek game using the Imperium games’ design https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/422541/star-trek-captains-chair

32:55 – Sky Team expansion announced: Turbulence https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/423177/sky-team-turbulence

34:36 – Forest Shuffle expansion: Woodland Edge https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/3316514/new-expansion-woodland-edge-2024

Played Games:

36:40 – Stonespine Architects https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/387514/stonespine-architects

33:12 – Archeos Society  https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/380938/archeos-society

46:09 – Viking See-Saw  https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/351810/viking-see-saw

49:56 – SUMO  https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/406257/sumo

Non-Gaming Interests:

52:53 – X-Men ‘97  https://www.imdb.com/title/tt16026746/

1:00:30 – 3 Body Problem – awesome! https://www.imdb.com/title/tt13016388/episodes/

1:01:14 – The Flash – not bad! https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0439572/

1:03:15 – Beverly Hills Cop 3 – not good. Not good at all. https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0109254/

1:05:14 – Meg 2: The Trench https://www.imdb.com/title/tt9224104/

1:06:15 – The Marvels (end credits were the best bit) https://www.imdb.com/title/tt10676048/

Tune in for all this and more as we navigate the latest in board gaming and beyond. It’s a News-a-palooza you won’t want to miss!

Ways you can engage or contact the show

Here is the link to our discord channel Devon Dice https://discord.gg/d3wBWWvcYd

Find us on all the socials: @DevonDiceUK, Facebook page, BGG Guild, @njshaw2  

On Bluesky: njshaw2.bsky.social, devondice.bsky.social

On the web: www.devondice.co.uk

Youtube – DevonDiceUK please like subscribe to our channel https://youtube.com/@DevonDice

devondice2015@gmail.com



Tags: